Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: RNSE starting to go

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Tampa, FL USA
    Posts
    144

    RNSE starting to go

    Guys I need so help. My RNSE that I have had in since 2005 is starting to go. Screen getting messed up etc. I need to find a replacement unit. Question on where to find one and what I need to look for. Its been 14 years so I dont remember . Mine was a euro unit with TV etc, though I didnt use it. What models work and dont work?
    Thanks
    RS6 2003 Mugello , silver, carbon, Revo, KW3s, Hotchkis sway bars, Custom exhaust, Hawk HPS pads, RNS-E, Bluetooth, 19" BBS CH(Black)

  2. #2
    Registered User ben916's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle, WA
    Posts
    4,991
    When I had mine, I went thru ZAWA to get it. Plug Play
    SOLD - 03 RS6 Avus (905355)
    Current - 03 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 double cab - the YETI, lifted, winched, snorkeled, lockered, skidded, geared

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    606
    I am in the process of installing an Android/Car Play system in mine. The look is close to stock but the colors are a little off (Audi has that greyish rubber look and I cannot find how to replicate it). I will say having Car Play is very nice to have.
    2003 Daytona/Silver RS6

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Tampa, FL USA
    Posts
    144
    Perfect thanks. When I got mine back in 2005 it was a more challenging situation
    RS6 2003 Mugello , silver, carbon, Revo, KW3s, Hotchkis sway bars, Custom exhaust, Hawk HPS pads, RNS-E, Bluetooth, 19" BBS CH(Black)

  5. #5
    Registered User hahnmgh63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Roy, WA
    Posts
    3,091
    I've seen C5 RNS-E unit (correct trim) on quattroworld and audizine lately. Not sure if they are older/newer. I think around 2010 was the newer model year (Larger SD cards, Traffic, HD screen).
    2003 White RS6 2013 Midnight Blue S5
    2013 Daytona RS5 2x944 Turbo's 1974 911 w/'91 3.6ltr motor
    Roy, WA

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by Chung View Post
    I am in the process of installing an Android/Car Play system in mine. The look is close to stock but the colors are a little off (Audi has that greyish rubber look and I cannot find how to replicate it). I will say having Car Play is very nice to have.
    Can I ask what you went with? Iíve had Alpine in previous vehicles, and their styling is subtle enough to me that it might not totally undo the OE ďpuristĒ goal. Curious though how well it drives the speaker system... when I bought the RS6 it had a terrible-looking Jensen screen that Iím pretty sure was driving only the in-door upper speakers/tweeters. Immediately replaced it with the OE head.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    606
    Sorry for the delay. I went with a unit from androidautoshop https://androidautoshop.com/audi/154.../26-map-europe. Not the best customer support but it did eventually arrive. I have a Carplay wireless dongle that I am still ironing out the bugs on. When it works it is great, Carplay is started automatically and you are ready to go. The issue I think I have is the headunit doesn't put out enough current. I am working on adding a powered USB hub to see if that fixes my issues. Overall it looks pretty stock but the black color tone is a little different. Audio quality is a downgrade from the stock unit but not massive.
    2003 Daytona/Silver RS6

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    55
    Thanks for the info on your setup!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •