Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 6spd swap using an 077 block?

6spd swap using an 077 block?

Greeting! I'm new to rs6.com, but not audis. Sorry if this has been covered, my searches haven't brought up the info I'm looking for.

I realize Steve Ken's kit is proven and well documented, but i'm curious if anyone here has done a 01e swap using an 077 block? I know that MTM and Advanced Automotion have done this, but there's no documented "build thread". I'm really just looking for the pros and cons with going this route.

I've currently got an 02 S6, and have stumbled upon a rs6 with a bad trans. I'm guessing you see the wheels turning in my head...

Thanks in advance!

I guess it depends on how comfortable you are in having the internals swapped over. Price wise, I think it's most likely a wash or more spendy on the engine rebuild if you do the math.

Also I'm not 100 percent but i think advanced hasnt done the 077 swap.
    2012 Q7 TDI S-Line - 2010 GTI - 2007 A3 3.2 S-Line - 2003 RS6
    2001 Honda S2000 - 1977 Honda CBR 750-F2 - 1965 GMC 1500 WideSide

Steve I am thinking the same thing, starting to look for an RS6 and I have a spare 077 block, but I was curious if the A6/S6 crank is forged. I would like you use it so I can run more readily available 2.7t flywheels

A friend of mine is currently in the process of doing this. Although his build is going very slowly.
    I can try asking for details within a couple of days.

As far as I know for now, the only difference - and the most important one - is the gidle/upper oil pan, it lacks oil drain holes for turbos.
    EDIT: he's going to reuse the RS crank though.

Quote Originally Posted by SteveKen View Post
    I guess it depends on how comfortable you are in having the internals swapped over. Price wise, I think it's most likely a wash or more spendy on the engine rebuild if you do the math.