Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: This after-market intake makes no sense to me

This after-market intake makes no sense to me

Sorry as I am still learning a whole lot about these cars, like dont use parts store parts and as to what can do what but as I was looking at motor mounts (dont need them, was just curious about the Sterns) I ran across this intake and it seems stupid to me. See I build lots of performance cars and know to avoid taking that blazing hot engine compartment air and ramming it into the engine. Colder air = more power. Many times I have removed metal intake tubes with an open element filter thats in the engine bay and replaced them with a composite tube and fender/front air intake and seen 5-15 rwhp on the chasis dyno.
    So this filter setup just seems wrong. Also now the diverter valves are venting to the atmosphere and I am fairly sure our computers dont like that. So am I missing something? Are these intakes worth a damn? I havent seen any pictures of them on here so I assume I am right in my thinking. Please educate me if I am wrong.

http://www.apikol.com/index.php/prod...ke-system.html

2014 S8 - Daytona Gray Pearl Effect, APR Stage 2 Tune, APR downpipes

Entirely garbage - period.
    '02 S6 Avant Silver - Pokey | Carbon Black/Ebony RS6 w/ stuff - darn quick | '03 Daytona Grey/Ebony RS6 w/ more stuff - quicker yet | '91 NSX CDN issue with 6spd & BBSC - quicker yet and then some | '87 Buick GNX OEM clone w/ lots of stuff - quickest hands down

Doesn't make a bit of sense to me either. And yes, the diverter valves venting back into the intake helps keep the Turbos spooled too (why waste that air?).
    2003 White RS6 2013 Midnight Blue S5
    2013 Daytona RS5 2x944 Turbo's 1974 911 w/'91 3.6ltr motor
    Roy, WA

Quote Originally Posted by Bigglezworth View Post
    Entirely garbage - period.
    100% agree, useless and ugly, people buy these just to say they have it, total waste of money
    2010 XC90 exec, winter machine (V8 of course)