Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ok, I'm coming out :).....6 speed conversion

Ok, I'm coming out :).....6 speed conversion

Not what you think...I've now made my final payment to Steve for the 6spd conversion and I'm getting on that train. I've got a TDI 01E and most of the rest of the parts coming. I still need to get a clutch, Anti-lock Brake module, and AMD software. I probably will either do it late Spring or I'll skip all the way to Fall so I can use the car in the Summer.
    Overall I've been pretty happy with the 517 trans compared to OEM but I still feel the slipping you get with an older Autobox. If there was a way to do the newer 6HP box I would definitely do that but I'm no software engineer. The 6HP is such a better shifting gearbox, weights less than the 5HP, and has versions capable of more Tq, than our 5HP version but oh well. I drive a 6sp commuter most days to work so loosing the Autobox won't be a loss. I almost never have real stop & go traffic. The Rear wheel HP increase with the 100lb loss will be favorable. I had a ride in AvusRS6's car a while back and I know he puts a lot of miles on his car so I figured if he was real happy then I would be too.
    2003 White RS6 2013 Midnight Blue S5
    2013 Daytona RS5 2x944 Turbo's 1974 911 w/'91 3.6ltr motor
    Roy, WA

Awesome! I am on the fence if I should start shopping for a manual swap right from the start since I am a new owner. This way I just get it over with.
    Current: 08 Mercedes CLK63 AMG Black Series, 08 Mercedes E63 AMG, 99 Mercedes C43 AMG, 02 Porsche 911 Turbo, 91 BMW 318IC (E30)
    Past: 03 Audi RS6, 01 Audi S4, 13 Audi S6, 99 BMW M3, 07 Audi RS4, 06 BMW M5, +

That is great news @hahnmgh63. Keep us posted on your progress.

Nice! If this doesn't get me to Feierabend, nothing will!
    Daytona/Ebony/Carbon/SEE/RNS-E/19X9 Speedline "Peelers"

FYI, the AMD tune can use your stock ABS controller. Talk to them about a clutch too.