Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 19 to 36 of 42

Thread: RNS-E from Zawa: who else purchased and has installed successfully?

  1. #19
    Registered User hahnmgh63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Roy, WA
    Posts
    3,113
    Ben916 & I installed his unit (Sawyers) about two weeks ago, then I did mine the next day. Ben's had the stock radio, I had previously had a RNS-E installed. I had previously installed a RNS-E about 5 years ago and a couple of years ago installed the factory Bluetooth, when doing the Bluetooth I also swapped the Onstar GPS antenna over to the RNS-E and removed the previous installed Magnetic antenna. Ben's was a little more work as we had to pull the Onstar and accidentally started by plugging the Onstar Cell antenna in instead of the GPS antenna. Zawa (Adam) kit was very nicely packaged and had everything you need. Compared with finding a cheap old unit in good shape it's a pretty good deal.
    2003 White RS6 2013 Midnight Blue S5
    2013 Daytona RS5 2x944 Turbo's 1974 911 w/'91 3.6ltr motor
    Roy, WA

  2. #20
    Registered User ben916's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle, WA
    Posts
    4,991
    Quote Originally Posted by hahnmgh63 View Post
    Ben916 & I installed his unit (Sawyers) about two weeks ago, then I did mine the next day. Ben's had the stock radio, I had previously had a RNS-E installed. I had previously installed a RNS-E about 5 years ago and a couple of years ago installed the factory Bluetooth, when doing the Bluetooth I also swapped the Onstar GPS antenna over to the RNS-E and removed the previous installed Magnetic antenna. Ben's was a little more work as we had to pull the Onstar and accidentally started by plugging the Onstar Cell antenna in instead of the GPS antenna. Zawa (Adam) kit was very nicely packaged and had everything you need. Compared with finding a cheap old unit in good shape it's a pretty good deal.
    Yep, 1000 HUGE thanks to Mark for the space, time and guidance on what the heck to do!!!!

    The Bluetooth is next but not before a timing belt - new bolts are in from PUREMS...

    EDIT: he did most of it...
    SOLD - 03 RS6 Avus (905355)
    Current - 03 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 double cab - the YETI, lifted, winched, snorkeled, lockered, skidded, geared

  3. #21
    Registered User mik15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    For now in Abu Dhabi
    Posts
    709
    i have also installed the RNS-E last week and i am now looking for the OEM bluetooth module, could you please let me know which one would be the best so that the latest phones could connect to, guys on rs246 were saying that i should get the latest possible module to make sure that iPhone 4S works...is there a specific p/n i should be looking for?
    Ex.: 2004 Audi RS6 C5 ABT, Milltek non-resonated, 19" RS4 B7 rims, RNS-E - SOLD
    2004 AUdi RS6 C5, SE exhaust, RNS-E, 19' original rims - SOLD
    Now :2009 Audi RS6 C6 - stock yet pretty fast

  4. #22
    Registered User hahnmgh63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Roy, WA
    Posts
    3,113
    I have part # 8P0862335AA and it works great in N. America. You should give your dealer a call as One for N. America may not be the best for Europe and such. Try Audiforum.us for some good info on the Bluetooth modules.
    2003 White RS6 2013 Midnight Blue S5
    2013 Daytona RS5 2x944 Turbo's 1974 911 w/'91 3.6ltr motor
    Roy, WA

  5. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Charleston, SC
    Posts
    600
    If you install the BT module you have to remove the microphone leads from the telematics harness and re-tap into the BT harness. Zawa's BT and RNS-E setup is certainly top notch (best packaging in the world). However, there are some modifications required for the RS6 for both the RNS-E and BT harnesses if you had original nav and OnStar. I have pics of the harness pinouts and what to pull for the mic if anyone needs it.
    03 RS6 :: 01 allroad

  6. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    35
    mik15

    Contact me if you are looking for BT, RNS-E or SAT

    Thanx

    zawa

  7. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    103
    I got mine from Adam (Zawa) and put it in this past weekend. It came in the best packing I've ever seen and all the pieces were flawless. Took me about 4 hours with breaks and interruptions to remove the old Nav, install Sirius, remove Symphony II, tap speed from behind the instrument cluster and install the RNS-E. It was easy as pie and his info was great.

    I wish I had done this when I got the car!

    You can't go wrong buying it from Adam.

  8. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    281
    Is there an advantage to tapping the speed from behind the instrument cluster? I love my RNS-E, which kicks butt over the NAV in my wife's Lexus. The ONLY thing better in the Lexus is map refresh time. I would say that the RNS-E is about every second, the Lexus every half second. When I purchased my RNS-E I was told that tapping into the speedo was not necessary - and it is not, as my map does function. However, if tapping the speed makes for smoother resolution, I would do it.
    Daytona/Ebony/Carbon/SEE/RNS-E/19X9 Speedline "Peelers"

  9. #27
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    103
    The advantage supposedly is that it updates faster and that you have GALA.

  10. #28
    Registered User marklar182's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    768
    With the speed signal attached it absolutely updates faster, and continues to update when GPS signal is breifly lost (tunnels, garages, ect).
    2008 A4 2.0TQ Quartz Grey Metallic S-Line/Titanium Package
    2017 A4 2.0TQ Glacier White Metallic Prestige Sport
    2003 RS6 TOTALED.-----Searching for a replacement

  11. #29
    Registered User ben916's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle, WA
    Posts
    4,991
    Quote Originally Posted by marklar182 View Post
    With the speed signal attached it absolutely updates faster, and continues to update when GPS signal is breifly lost (tunnels, garages, ect).
    I have noticed this...
    SOLD - 03 RS6 Avus (905355)
    Current - 03 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 double cab - the YETI, lifted, winched, snorkeled, lockered, skidded, geared

  12. #30
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    392
    Just got my RNS-E from Zawa! Cant wait to get it hooked up! but I'm Looking at the 61 page install PDF and wondering if anyone has cliff notes?? Im super ADD and got through like 5 pages before i came here lol I just got nav, no BT or XM...
    C5 RS6 - Daytona Grey/Silver, Carbon Fiber, RNS-E, O.CT ECU/TCU--sold :(
    DD: 02 G500 - 35" Nitto Trail Graplers, baja roof rack, 52" LED light bar
    Business Car: Gulf liveried 01 996TT w/ Tial Alpha A28 turbos + supporting mods - 700hp

  13. #31
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    35

    zawa

    Its not that bad, please contact others who allready did it in RS6, pick somebody from my feedback list or contact Rich.

    Or just email me.

    BR

    A

    Quote Originally Posted by bmwade View Post
    Just got my RNS-E from Zawa! Cant wait to get it hooked up! but I'm Looking at the 61 page install PDF and wondering if anyone has cliff notes?? Im super ADD and got through like 5 pages before i came here lol I just got nav, no BT or XM...

  14. #32
    Registered User ben916's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle, WA
    Posts
    4,991
    not that I am the expert, that would be Mark.

    1. If you have the factory nav, you could/can use the sharkfin sat connection from the ONSTAR. It is under the passenger foot well, yes you have to remove the glovebox to access it. YES, it is a mother to pull the carpet back. There are three bolts holding the ONSTAR module to the firewall.
    2. If you don't have the factory nav, just use the supplied magnetic GPS antenna and attach to a location under the dash.
    3. The keys that are supplied are marginal, I just happened to purchase a set with the Phatnoise that I was planning on installing but got the RNS-E instead. ECS tuning is where I got the second set.
    4. Cover the gear shift with a towel or something.
    5. Once everything is connected and powered on, it took about 30 minutes to align to where I was located. Initially, I had 2-3 satelites, it needs 3 to triangulate. I typically receive 7-8 on any given day.

    If I had to do it over:
    1. I would have purchase the BT module AND the harness with the BT module wired in.
    2. Tap into the speed sensor from the instrument cluster. There are times in city traffic/streets where the refresh is not quick enough or the signal does not refresh fast enough to recognize a change in direction. What I mean by this is if you do a three point, the GPS thinks you are still pointed in the original direction, versus refreshing to point in the direction the car is facing (n,s,e,w).
    SOLD - 03 RS6 Avus (905355)
    Current - 03 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 double cab - the YETI, lifted, winched, snorkeled, lockered, skidded, geared

  15. #33
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    35

    I have complete OEM BT modules and RNS-E dedicated SAT modules...just say a word :-)

    as above

  16. #34
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by alrightroad View Post
    However, there are some modifications required for the RS6 for both the RNS-E and BT harnesses if you had original nav and OnStar. I have pics of the harness pinouts and what to pull for the mic if anyone needs it.
    BLUF:
    1) Is there specific VCDS re-coding required to "code out" the factory radio nav after RNS-E installation?
    2) Do I need a different wiring bundle than the one I'm expecting to come from zawa with the RNS-E? (Like the Kufatec conversion bundle, link below)

    I'm about to install one of zawa's units in my RS6 to replace the Symphony II (he's been awesome to work with, just as everyone says). My car has the original "radio" nav (MFD text), and I'm wondering if there's specific VCDS re-coding that needs to be done to "code out" the original nav, understanding that the coding for the unit itself is handled by zawa. I ask because Kufatec sells a wire bundle that's a "complete set for conversion from a radio navigation unit to an original DVD navigation unit RNS-E" (link below). So I'm also wondering if the zawa-included wiring bundle is adequate, or whether I need to get a "conversion" wiring bundle.

    I have original OnStar as well, but not planning to wire to it unless there's a relatively straightforward way to re-purpose the integrated microphone with a FISCON BT phone setup (instead of using their aftermarket microphone that clips to the headliner).

    After searching, I haven't seen anyone mention Kufatec's RNS-E accessory solutions, but I'm also planning on their "AUX, A2DP Bluetooth Plug and Play Music Receiver for Audi RNS Media" (link below), which should give not only BT audio (with proper song title info displayed) as well as an AUX-in option as an alternative. Seems like a very easy implementation and avoids trying to fit a (massive) OE AMI unit in/around/behind and then finding a BT solution to add on to it.

    Kufatec radio nav to RNS-E conversion bundle: https://www.kufatec.com/en/car-hifi/...te-set-34521-1
    Kufatec BT RNS-E "AMI alternative": https://www.kufatec.com/en/car-hifi/...ns-media-41563

  17. #35
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Boston, USA
    Posts
    2,289
    I got my original wiring harness from Zawa. My installation: RNS-E Install

  18. #36
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by nene View Post
    I got my original wiring harness from Zawa. My installation: RNS-E Install
    Awesome, that’s a very helpful and thorough guide! I appreciate not having to reinvent the wheel. Just got the unit, so will install soon.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •