Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 37 to 52 of 52

Thread: RNS-E and Carbon Fiber Questions

  1. #37
    Registered User ben916's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Newcastle, WA
    Posts
    4,996
    Quote Originally Posted by nistah View Post
    Thinking of bidding on this unit, asked seller if it was/is possible to flash with US Firmware....so far no response...anyone have any idea if this is good unit? Thanks & HNY to everyone on here!


    http://cgi.ebay.com/Audi-A6-Navigati...item4cf43b96c8
    not to toss a rock into your plans on this one, but I seem to remember something about the RNS-E unit had to have letter at the end of the part number so it would be compatible with the US cars...
    SOLD - 03 RS6 Avus (905355)
    Current - 03 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 double cab - the YETI, lifted, winched, snorkeled, lockered, skidded, geared

  2. #38
    Registered User hahnmgh63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Roy, WA
    Posts
    3,160
    That is true about their is a difference in the units suffix between Europe & N. America but that is all the suffix denotes (software), the hardware is the same. I have a Euorpean unit which has been flashed with N.American software. Their are a few places stateside that can do it but I'm not sure how much it costs, mine already came with the N.Amercan flash. The firmware flash takes a little more skill that the regular operating software which I believe is still at 0260 which comes on the Navigation discs and should already go through an update cycle if you are running on older software, I'm not sure where or how you would get or update the firmware without sending it into one of the people that offer it like: www.vagnavs.com ( where I purchased mine) or www.nsxjr.com One of the nice things about the units being flashed rather than a factory unit is that you get the "Video in Motion" unlocked and you don't end up getting the ridiculous lawyer disclaimers that display for a minuted about navigating while driving, the units just boot up right away.
    2003 White RS6 2013 Midnight Blue S5
    2013 Daytona RS5 2x944 Turbo's 1974 911 w/'91 3.6ltr motor
    Roy, WA

  3. #39
    Registered User PALETTE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    605
    guys will this unit work?
    Manufacturer Part Number: AUZBZ7H0561441
    2004 Black/Black,EPL Tune *** 0-60 in 3.5 seconds SOLD :( - - 2002 TT Porsche 724WHP 10.43@139mph/ Motor build in progress. looking for 9's

  4. #40
    Registered User hahnmgh63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Roy, WA
    Posts
    3,160
    I'm not sure about those numbers Palette, you are looking for the Audi part # which should be on a tag on the Unit:
    4B0 035 192 P Audi A6 Europe, 4B C5 and Allroad (A4 B5 with faceplate mod)
    4B0 035 192 R Audi A6 North America, 4B C5 and Allroad (A4 B5 with faceplate mod)
    If you have the P unit is needs the hard firmware flashed to it, then you can upload the N. America soft coding software. Here is where you'll find about all you ever wanted to know about RNS-E: http://audiforum.us/rns-e/427-rns-e-...ick-links.html
    2003 White RS6 2013 Midnight Blue S5
    2013 Daytona RS5 2x944 Turbo's 1974 911 w/'91 3.6ltr motor
    Roy, WA

  5. #41
    Registered User PALETTE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    605
    here is a image of the Unit Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rsn..jpg 
Views:	205 
Size:	57.2 KB 
ID:	10748
    2004 Black/Black,EPL Tune *** 0-60 in 3.5 seconds SOLD :( - - 2002 TT Porsche 724WHP 10.43@139mph/ Motor build in progress. looking for 9's

  6. #42
    Registered User hahnmgh63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Roy, WA
    Posts
    3,160
    That is the Euro unit for the C5. It will work in N.America as long as the firmware is flashed for N. America. See an earlier post in this thread where I posted a couple of business that can do the firmware. I don't know how to do the operating system firmware, only the soft coding software comes on the NAV DVD's.
    2003 White RS6 2013 Midnight Blue S5
    2013 Daytona RS5 2x944 Turbo's 1974 911 w/'91 3.6ltr motor
    Roy, WA

  7. #43
    Registered User PALETTE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    605
    I'm going to look into it or i'm thinking of just buying the one already done from RNS-e.com
    2004 Black/Black,EPL Tune *** 0-60 in 3.5 seconds SOLD :( - - 2002 TT Porsche 724WHP 10.43@139mph/ Motor build in progress. looking for 9's

  8. #44
    Registered User nistah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    534
    Hi All,

    Finally picked up an RNS-E for the beast and now before I install wanted to ask a question to determine if I need the bluetooth module or not:

    Can the RNS-E head unit be hooked up to the onstar mic to provide cell call' through the stereo speaker system without the bluetooth module?

    Thanks,


  9. #45
    Registered User JSRS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    3,320
    Quote Originally Posted by nistah View Post
    Hi All,

    Finally picked up an RNS-E for the beast and now before I install wanted to ask a question to determine if I need the bluetooth module or not:

    Can the RNS-E head unit be hooked up to the onstar mic to provide cell call' through the stereo speaker system without the bluetooth module?

    Thanks,

    You need the Bluetooth module in order to interface with your phone. Unless you have a motorola v60 still and a cradle in your 6...
    Avus RS 6, RNS-E/BT/RVC, Eurocharged/MTM, SuperSports, PSS9/Hotchkis, SS Lines/EBC Reds, FMU/BMC, Sportec vents, 007's, 9500ci, Black Optics/Headlights/Trim/Rims, CC; coming soon: stage 3 snow meth

  10. #46
    Registered User nistah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    534
    Thanks, JSRS6

    LOL on the v60 got rid of mine years ago...the MY 2000 JagXJR I used to own had a Motorola Timeport/Startac cradle in the center console.

    Please advise if either of these bluetooth units will be compatible with the RS6:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/VW-Audi-Bluetoot...item20b6fe1054


    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/AUDI-...Q5fAccessories

  11. #47
    Registered User marklar182's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    768
    First one will not work (it is a VW RNS-510 unit)

    Second one will have limited compatibility (address books not shown on unit) and not work with all newer phones. It is also a Euro unit, so it is hard coded to expect a British accent I dont recommend this unit.

    You want a 8P0-862-335-J or newer BT unit for newer smartphones.

    Here is a list of RNS-e compatible BT units and functionality. You dont want a Euro unit as I mentioned, unless you want to speak with a British accent!

    PHONE INTERFACE BOX Full functionality unless shown otherwise

    8P0 862 335 Basic functionality only
    8P0 862 335 A MY 2004 A3/A4 - Basic functionality only
    8P0 862 335 D MY 2005 A4 >8E-5-533 000 - Basic functionality only
    8P0 862 335 E MY 2005 A4 8E-5-533 001>>8E-5-600 000 - Basic functionality only
    8P0 862 335 C MY 2006 A4 8E-6-000 001/8E-6-800 001>>
    8P0 862 335 B MY 2006 A3/A4 (North America)
    8P0 862 335 F MY 2006.5 A3/A4 (Europe)
    8P0 862 335 G MY 2006.5 A4 (North America)
    8P0 862 335 M MY 2007 (Europe)
    8P0 862 335 J MY 2007 (North America)
    8P0 862 335 H MY 2007.5 (Europe)
    8P0 862 335 L MY 2008 (North America)
    8P0 862 335 K MY 2008 (Europe, sw 0340)
    8P0 862 335 Q MY 2008 (Europe, sw 0350)
    8P0 862 335 R MY 2008 (North America)
    8P0 862 335 N MY 2009 (Europe)
    8P0 862 335 P MY 2009 (North America)
    8P0 862 335 S MY 2009.5 (Europe)
    8P0 862 335 T MY 2009.5 (North America)
    8P0 862 335 AA MY 2010 (Europe)
    8P0 862 335 AB MY 2010 (North America)

    or the newest is
    8P1862336 for North America.
    2008 A4 2.0TQ Quartz Grey Metallic S-Line/Titanium Package
    2017 A4 2.0TQ Glacier White Metallic Prestige Sport
    2003 RS6 TOTALED.-----Searching for a replacement

  12. #48
    Registered User nistah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    534

    Carbon Fiber !

    Quote Originally Posted by ben916 View Post
    www.ocarbon.com - not OEM but not from POLAND...

    So I checked with ww.ocarbon.com & while their product looks super nice, they charge about $800 and require your wood dash as a core. That is just a touch more than I can allocate towards my RS6 dash at this time.

    That said does anyone have any experience with the following kit, while also not OEM, it claims it's the full 40 piece kit made with real carbon fiber :

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Audi-...Q5fAccessories


    Also if I wanted to get totally out of control:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/02-04...Q5fAccessories

    Looking for others to chime in on there opinions of the Carbon Fiber hood for the RS6, normally I would not consider and I do not think it looks good on the black car in the picture, however seeing as I have the Pearl Grey Metallic Effect on my beast I think it just may work...although I am afraid too much carbon fiber my cheapen the look

    Thoughts???

  13. #49
    Registered User JSRS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    3,320
    Hood won't fit based on pic. Pre-facelift.
    Avus RS 6, RNS-E/BT/RVC, Eurocharged/MTM, SuperSports, PSS9/Hotchkis, SS Lines/EBC Reds, FMU/BMC, Sportec vents, 007's, 9500ci, Black Optics/Headlights/Trim/Rims, CC; coming soon: stage 3 snow meth

  14. #50
    Registered User JSRS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    3,320
    Dash kit is not what you want. I tried this on my first S4, ended up peeling it all back off.
    Avus RS 6, RNS-E/BT/RVC, Eurocharged/MTM, SuperSports, PSS9/Hotchkis, SS Lines/EBC Reds, FMU/BMC, Sportec vents, 007's, 9500ci, Black Optics/Headlights/Trim/Rims, CC; coming soon: stage 3 snow meth

  15. #51
    Registered User hahnmgh63's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Roy, WA
    Posts
    3,160
    How much of an upgrade could the carbon hood be over the factory aluminum hood anyways? Not worth a couple of pounds of weight for the lack of rigidity.
    2003 White RS6 2013 Midnight Blue S5
    2013 Daytona RS5 2x944 Turbo's 1974 911 w/'91 3.6ltr motor
    Roy, WA

  16. #52
    Registered User nistah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    534
    Thanks for the insight 63 and JSRS6, I guess I will go with O carbon if Shokan cannot source an OEM carbon kit for me soon. On the RNS-E front, the good tech's at BestBuy nailed my RNS-E install earlier today - all in for $105! IMO this is a sweet mod, It really brings the look and feel of the interior up to current. Thanks to all for the guidance on this!!!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •