PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on S8

jjdnyc
August 29th, 2006, 03:17
Guys

I am an Audi newbie. Was all set to oder an M5 and I am now considering an S6/ S8. I have come around to the view that I will get a lot more useable, accesible power out of an S than the M, which while awesome lacks the low end torque of the Audis. I am not going to be tracking this thing or worring about 1/4 mile times etc.

initially I assumed the S6 was the logical alternative (and yes I realise the RS6 will be more in the M5 performance league) but I am concerned about reports on the ride quality (living in NYC and driving an M3 I know what that is all about) and I have to say I think the S8 looks a lot better.

I would welcome any thoughts on this and also, are there likely to be S8 allocations available this Fall or are they all spoken for (again I am a neophyte).

Thanks in advance

JD

Skaala
August 29th, 2006, 11:41
Go for the S8. I can only imagine how good it is. I drive the car it is vastly based on, the 4.2 A8, and I love it!. Look better than any BMW. You also get Quattro which means you can be out cruising in a NY blizzard.:)

Erik
August 29th, 2006, 11:42
Go for the S8, but it's a bit slower than the W12 ;)

jjdnyc
August 29th, 2006, 12:19
Tak så myket till ni både... (hope I got that right)

I am going to talk to some dealers today to figure out availability

Leadfoot
August 29th, 2006, 12:33
Originally posted by Erik
Go for the S8, but it's a bit slower than the W12 ;)

It maybe a little slow, but with the lighter engine it's handling would be better even without the sportier suspension setting and all reports are it has better ride quality as well.

jjdnyc
August 29th, 2006, 13:12
Originally posted by Leadfoot
It maybe a little slow, but with the lighter engine it's handling would be better even without the sportier suspension setting and all reports are it has better ride quality as well.