PDA

View Full Version : Driving the RS6

jfrocke
March 24th, 2003, 21:58
I'm an Audi newbie but am very interested in an RS6. Was considering an M3 or M5, but I just test drove an A6 and it fits me much better (6'3").

This was a 3.0 version A6 and although I liked the interior and exterior, the drive was kind of boring. Ride was too soft and power was low. The shifting seemed quite slow as well, even when manually shifting the automatic transmission.

This may be a dumb question, but how much different would the RS6 feel as far as the suspension and engine power? Is the RS6 transmission faster shifting as well?

BTW, I'm coming from a Boxster-S which has great suspension, braking and road feel. Power is decent, but I am looking for more power and something more practical.

Thanks in advance to any information that the group members can provide!!!

Erik
March 24th, 2003, 22:33
I have an A6 2.7T chipped to 312 bhp. It's also a V6 like the 3.0 but with more 'charachter.' some turbo push if you know instead of the very liniear 3.0 hp curve.

The RS6 is a V8 but the difference between my 2.7T and the 4.2T much much more than you'd expect. It is much faster.

I'll pass on the ride quality since I'm not sure you get what we do.
Mine has Audi original sport suspension, lowered about 1 inch vs. stock. The RS6 is firmer but I never felt it was too hard.

I guess the RS6 would be less communicative, but that would be the only drawback vs. the Boxster.

peterb
March 24th, 2003, 23:42
I currently drive a 2.7T quattro with tiptronic, but haven't driven a 3.0. The 2.7T is slightly more powerful than the 3.0, but with a much broader/flatter torque band.