PDA

View Full Version : Convertible RS6?

JA
September 27th, 2004, 18:21
I'd be curious to know if any other RS6 owners have considered doing a custom convertible top for their car - actually removing the roof section and installing a convertible top.

Is this do-able?

JAXRS6
September 27th, 2004, 18:40
Originally posted by JA
I'd be curious to know if any other RS6 owners have considered doing a custom convertible top for their car - actually removing the roof section and installing a convertible top.

Is this do-able?

I'm no expert but my educated guess is that there probably are places in Southern California, at least, that could/might do it. I've seen past TV coverage featuring companies there that can make a convertible out of just about anything. Some have been doing it for many years, catering largely to celebrity owners with big budgets.

On the other hand, convertible bodies of any ilk tend to flex more, and custom ragtops likely would bend even more. Plus the RS6 is a heavy car which, in my opinion, already has enough flex for a sedan. Personally I would not want to risk the possible consequences of more flex, given the car's performance capabilities; i.e. consequences that might range from an onslaught of squeaks to handling problems IMO.

And then there's the money. On a scale of $ to $$$$$, figure $$$$$$$$$$$$$ (In other words I have no idea how much, but it wouldn't surprise me if a conversion cost $40K or more.)

If you still want to proceed after hearing all that, go for it -- and please keep us posted!

Erik
September 27th, 2004, 20:59
Hey, buy a Murciélago Spider instead.

Just an idea :D

JAXRS6
September 27th, 2004, 22:18
I forgot to mention earlier that the RS6 being a 4-door makes any ragtop conversion extremely difficult.

Erik
September 27th, 2004, 22:25
What would be cool was an RS6 with AeroTop / Glass-Top.

audirs6sport
September 27th, 2004, 22:50
THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE!!! I WOULD LOVE IT. :p