PDA

View Full Version : 10 Mpg ???

spg123
June 11th, 2004, 02:41
I'm getting an average of 10 miles per gallon with my RS6. Is this normal or I have to go get it checked?

SpinEcho
June 11th, 2004, 03:31
Try placing a raw egg under the gas pedal and driving without breaking it. :hihi:

Seriously...

Give us some information here. What are your driving conditions? Highway, city, both. What is your driving style? How many miles/km does your car have?

spg123
June 11th, 2004, 03:37
:D Funny. I guess that would help.

Well, it's a brand new '03 RS6. I got about 700 miles on it. I drive in the city most of the times, but I have about 8-10 miles/day of freeway ride too. I guess I can say I am an agressive driver. It is pretty tempting to push the gas all the time. I got much more conservative after the second speeding ticket.

Anybody else getting 10 MPG here?

SpinEcho
June 11th, 2004, 04:05
Mine has just over 1500 km (940 miles). I've done a mix of highway and city driving, biased towards city. So far I'm averaging 15.8 l/100 km (that's 14.9 mpg US or 17.9 mpg Imperial). I'm expecting this to improve as the engine gets more fully broken-in and as I do more highway driving.

Two speeding tickets already? :MTM: Ouch ... it sounds like maybe 10 mpg correlates well with the weight of your right foot!

JKN
June 11th, 2004, 04:06
My experience is as follows:

About 750 miles of urban/city driving: 13-14 MPG

Drive to Vermont with tons o' hiway: 22-23 MPG

She's a beast and she drinks. Period.

Someday I'll buy a Prius to balance it all out... :hahahehe:

spg123
June 11th, 2004, 04:38
Ok, so I guess it's normal. I'm still new to the RS6 and I'm pushing it too much. Racing other cars etc., that's why it takes a little more gas for me.

:addict:

spg123
June 11th, 2004, 04:46
Originally posted by SpinEcho
Two speeding tickets already? :MTM: Ouch ... it sounds like maybe 10 mpg correlates well with the weight of your right foot!