PDA

View Full Version : coilovers???

carlos
May 28th, 2004, 15:36
Does anybody have experience with coilovers???. I just order bilstein pss9 for my rs6, and i know i would lose the DRC. The thing is the stock susp. is not very good ( track and street ) , it may be confortable in street but that is it. I just put sportec 20inch with conti, sportec exhaust, sportec carbon rear inserts and carbon paddles. Order the sportec springs but the ride is the same so lets try the coilovers. Just wanted to make sure somebody may have any exp.

SpinEcho
May 28th, 2004, 17:19
Wow, you must have smooth roads in your part of Mexico!

I have no experience with PSS9's for RS6, but I do have a set on my Corrado and I can vouch for the quality of this product.

Oh, and how about some pics of your Sportec-tuned beast?

Erik
May 28th, 2004, 17:24
Carlos welcome to RS6.com!

I was in Mexico a few years back on vacation. I sure hope to go back anytime soon.

I guess the Sportec springs only lower the car 20 mm?
Sorry I have no reply to your problem.

I really want to see pics of your Sportec RS6! :bye:

nene
May 28th, 2004, 17:30
I would like to first welcome you to our forum Carlos.

It seems that you will have a nice setup once it's all said and done. We must see pix of course!!!

As for coilovers, I had a set on my S4. I loved that I could play with the ride height, which in the 3+ years I owned the car with them installed, I think I changed it about 10 times.

Please understand that the roads in Boston are one of the worst you can possible imagine. With coilovers, the ride handling was great, formidable in fact. When they were new, the ride quality was almost as stock, but a bit firmer.
If only the roads were better though. Once I gave the car to my sister, I changed it back to the stock setup, and love the stock ride of the S4.

The car started to generate cracking sounds that I could not diagnose when the coilovers were on, and started to get old.