PDA

View Full Version : This after-market intake makes no sense to me

LaserSVT
October 3rd, 2015, 20:52
Sorry as I am still learning a whole lot about these cars, like dont use parts store parts and as to what can do what but as I was looking at motor mounts (dont need them, was just curious about the Sterns) I ran across this intake and it seems stupid to me. See I build lots of performance cars and know to avoid taking that blazing hot engine compartment air and ramming it into the engine. Colder air = more power. Many times I have removed metal intake tubes with an open element filter thats in the engine bay and replaced them with a composite tube and fender/front air intake and seen 5-15 rwhp on the chasis dyno.
So this filter setup just seems wrong. Also now the diverter valves are venting to the atmosphere and I am fairly sure our computers dont like that. So am I missing something? Are these intakes worth a damn? I havent seen any pictures of them on here so I assume I am right in my thinking. Please educate me if I am wrong.

http://www.apikol.com/index.php/products/audi/rs6/c5-rs6-intake-system.html

http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x135/orange92gt/rs6_intake_zoom_23_zpsslebnmux.jpg (http://s185.photobucket.com/user/orange92gt/media/rs6_intake_zoom_23_zpsslebnmux.jpg.html)

Bigglezworth
October 3rd, 2015, 22:20
Entirely garbage - period.

hahnmgh63
October 4th, 2015, 02:06
Doesn't make a bit of sense to me either. And yes, the diverter valves venting back into the intake helps keep the Turbos spooled too (why waste that air?).

fukinavit
October 4th, 2015, 08:26
Entirely garbage - period.

100% agree, useless and ugly, people buy these just to say they have it, total waste of money

ttboost
October 4th, 2015, 12:57
I was working on a design very nearly identical to this, but my filters were enclosed. It would be all aluminum, so heat would dissipate, but still suck cooler air form the original air ducts. Definitely room for improvement.

hahnmgh63