PDA

View Full Version : Ok, I'm coming out :).....6 speed conversion

hahnmgh63
February 14th, 2015, 18:42
Not what you think...I've now made my final payment to Steve for the 6spd conversion and I'm getting on that train. I've got a TDI 01E and most of the rest of the parts coming. I still need to get a clutch, Anti-lock Brake module, and AMD software. I probably will either do it late Spring or I'll skip all the way to Fall so I can use the car in the Summer.
Overall I've been pretty happy with the 517 trans compared to OEM but I still feel the slipping you get with an older Autobox. If there was a way to do the newer 6HP box I would definitely do that but I'm no software engineer. The 6HP is such a better shifting gearbox, weights less than the 5HP, and has versions capable of more Tq, than our 5HP version but oh well. I drive a 6sp commuter most days to work so loosing the Autobox won't be a loss. I almost never have real stop & go traffic. The Rear wheel HP increase with the 100lb loss will be favorable. I had a ride in AvusRS6's car a while back and I know he puts a lot of miles on his car so I figured if he was real happy then I would be too.

TMAC
February 14th, 2015, 18:48
Awesome! I am on the fence if I should start shopping for a manual swap right from the start since I am a new owner. This way I just get it over with.

nene
February 14th, 2015, 19:25
That is great news @hahnmgh63. Keep us posted on your progress.

NSU RS6
February 14th, 2015, 19:25
Nice! If this doesn't get me to Feierabend, nothing will!

SteveKen
February 14th, 2015, 20:12
FYI, the AMD tune can use your stock ABS controller. Talk to them about a clutch too.

hahnmgh63
February 14th, 2015, 20:16
That's great news Steve. I thought I had re-read the conversion threads but I must have missed that one. Now just the Clutch and tune but I've got time as I'm in no hurry, that includes you shipping Steve, I'm in no hurry.

P1054
February 15th, 2015, 01:16