PDA

View Full Version : oil changes

dpiggee
January 16th, 2004, 01:12
Hello everyone,
I am new to this forum, but I have been checking things out since September, 2003. I have just purchased an RS6, and I am totally blown away by this car!!! I bought the car in Illinois, however, I live in Wisconsin. I also got an opportunity to meet one of your members while I was familiarizing myself with the controls. He was driving a silver beast and was as excited as I was!!! I have a question about oil changes. I read the scheduled maintenance booklet, and it indicates that oil changes are only needed every 5000 miles. Am I being paranoid, or shouldn't you change the oil more frequently on turbo-charged cars? Maybe every 3000 miles or so? Any advice would be appreciated. By the way, my RS6 is Mugello blue, with the warm weather package, and the sound enchanced exhaust. Thank you.

dpiggee

nene
January 16th, 2004, 01:55
I believe that according to Audi, the 'free' oil changes will part of the maintenance at 5k and every 10K miles after the 5K service. To tell you the truth, I did my 5K mile service with the odometer reading 7.3K miles, and it was fine. No oil missing, even though it's usual for Audi's to burn a bit of oil in their first 5K miles.

Changing the oil would probably depend on how hard you drive, if you track the car, or if you do any long commutes or occasional drives.

I plan to stick to the Audi maintenance schedule. Unless, I think I've driven the car too hard between maintenance schedules, or I do a long trip. I think what Audi recommends is fine.
It's important however to keep checking the oil level occasionally, to make sure that it has not gone down too low. Now that is very important.

Erik
January 16th, 2004, 09:59
Check the oil level, fill up if needed, and stick to the Audi schedule.

One thing you might want to add is an oil change for the tiptronic when you have your car in for service.

Aronis
January 16th, 2004, 16:42