PDA

View Full Version : Under Engine Tray - thinking of removing?

Mikefo
May 5th, 2014, 20:26
Any big drawbacks in removing the under-engine tray? I live in a hot environment and thinking of removing the tray. It will make oil changes much faster also. I believe the primary reason for the tray is for lower engine noise to meet some European (Swiss) requirements. Any good reason to keep in place?

Otherwise I am 5 months into ownership and absolutely love it.

DHall1
May 5th, 2014, 20:43
Cut the sportec vent in the lower cover

SteveKen
May 5th, 2014, 21:03
Noise, yes. The diesel cars actually have another tray that goes further back under the car.

Also, the stock cover has venturis strategically placed to help draw air through the radiator assembly, transmission and alternator.

I've never done any before & after comparisons to prove how detrimental removal becomes. Maybe it's negligible in normal situations?

Also, if you take yours off and want to put it on a Greyhound bus to Pittsburgh, I'm looking for one.....

tantheman
May 5th, 2014, 22:25
I believe one of the purposes of this cover is aerodynamics...no? Many super fast cars have the bottom of the cars covered all the way...

ttboost
May 6th, 2014, 15:22
I reinstalled the one on the car I sold. I forgot to put it back on and when the new owner came over this weekend , we put it back on. I don't think you will glean much from a cooling perspective, BUT you will get WAY more protection of the vitals. I recommend leaving it on, Audi designed it that way.

LIRS6
May 6th, 2014, 19:53
Alternator would otherwise be totally exposed, as it sits low/forward - just one thing that comes to mind ....

ben916
May 6th, 2014, 20:12
Alternator would otherwise be totally exposed, as it sits low/forward - just one thing that comes to mind ....

Also the Intercooler piping can rest on the tray, unless grinding on that is preferred versus the tray.

kismetcapitan
May 6th, 2014, 20:22