PDA

View Full Version : aftermarket radio harness for Bose stereos?

kismetcapitan
March 13th, 2012, 21:28
The Pioneer Appradio 2 comes out next month; I've decided against ripping out the Bose system and doing a complete aftermarket speaker and amp system. Having a smartphone-based ICE with 7" touchscreen will bring the ICE at least on par with what's currently available in an Audi. Well, there's no finger-scribbling, but there's Siri.

Are there harnesses to plug an aftermarket radio into the Bose system and still utilize all the speakers and the factory power amp? Does that power amp only power the subwoofer? Are other speakers powered by the RNS head unit? Is the subwoofer crossover also built into the headunit (meaning, does the Bose system only works with the stock head unit?)

mrdave
March 13th, 2012, 21:38
I'm in the same boat as you are. The only thing I've found so far is this harness, which supposedly works but I have no hands on experience: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0007WW64O

If anyone has more information around what speakers are and are not amplified and how the crossovers work, I would also like to know.

bmlee007
March 14th, 2012, 02:02
I've installed aftermarket head units in my C5 A6 and RS6, and it was the same each time. I ordered from Crutchfield and got the wiring harness with the head unit, connecting power, ground and such is pretty straightforward, although there is not a fused power lead in the car. You will have to run a separate wire from an empty location on the fuse block behind the panel on the driver's side of the dash. The speakers were connected via RCA connections, make sure the head unit has two pre-amp outputs for front and rear. That's all there was to it.

The harness mrdave linked to above looks pretty much like the one I got from Crutchfield. Sorry, I can't comment about the subwoofer, seems that the previous owners decided to remove/scrap/sell them before I bought the cars.

Cochese
March 15th, 2012, 20:05