PDA

View Full Version : random battery relocation idea??

kismetcapitan
September 30th, 2011, 13:04
just got a weird brainstorm...some Odyssey batteries are truly small. What if you took two of these, and then stuck them in the little storage bins on either side of the trunk? On the left, you'd have to remove that CD changer rack and toss out the jack, but on the right there seems to be plenty of room - just need to move the air compressor?

I'm no electrician, but would running two of these batteries in parallel do a decent job of keeping the car both running and with a decent amount of reserve capacity? I'm dying to get rid of that breadbox in my trunk, as well as unload the spare tire. A tire puncture kit, a can of fix-a-flat, and the air compressor should be plenty in the spare tire well. I've driven cross-country numerous times, and while I've had to fix flats, I've never had a tire failure so catastrophic that an air pump and puncture kit couldn't fix...

kismetcapitan
September 30th, 2011, 13:37
just measured. An Odyssey PC1200 (8x7x7 approx) will fit in the right side compartment if you trim some of that styrofoam away, just clearing the Bose subwoofer. Yes, it's sticking 40lbs into an extreme corner of the car, but getting rid of the spare ought to help balance things out :) Another one will fit in the left side if that bracket is removed.

JSRS6
September 30th, 2011, 17:11
I would say go for it! And definitely in parallel, dont want one bad battery to put you OOC.

kismetcapitan
September 30th, 2011, 17:52
I'd have to use an isolator then if I want to keep one battery as a backup, but it should otherwise work, and since I'd be using two, I can go smaller.