PDA

View Full Version : thoughts on repainting?

kismetcapitan
September 22nd, 2011, 07:48
I love my car, I do. But I can't shake this nagging feeling that I'd love it more if it were ebony pearl. Also, my car does have extensive stone chipping all over the front bumper. Things like that usually do not bother me (I'm far more concerned about the engine), but I want my car to....just appear a lot more aggressive. Avus Silver is as stealth as it gets -

- I didn't mention it directly, but I was about to get my car vinyl wrapped in matte black. It worked out extremely well on my Skyline, but I did see pictures of an RS6 that had it done in England, and it's not as striking. Upside is that it preserves the car's original finish. Downside is cost - it's cheaper to repaint.

- so if I went and got the best repaint done, would I be committing a sacrilege on a rare car? I'm an avid guitarist for example, and like my cars, I tend to modify them (electronically and with upgraded hardware)...except for one, which is 1 of 2 made. Originality matters a great deal in the guitar world, and people have told me flat out not to change so much as a screw, that I'm the caretaker of an instrument that will outlive me.

Anyways, I do relish the idea of a beautifully deep black pearl effect paint job, with my car tastefully lowered on 19" wheels, offset just enough so that rolling the arches would be required but no more than that, and some black optics work, except of course the iconic aluminum mirrors and the badging.

twinsteve
September 22nd, 2011, 11:07
Please don't switch colors (just get the bumper re-sprayed) and please PLEASE don't do a matte wrap....

speedtrapped
September 22nd, 2011, 12:55
I for one think if you want to paint it, its a personal choice..do it. Its not like your going to paint it a non audi color. I love my ebony pearl.

DHall1
September 22nd, 2011, 15:12