PDA

View Full Version : possible modifications to improve steering feel?

kismetcapitan
August 19th, 2011, 07:51
while I've found the RS6 to exceed my expectations in handling, the one thing I can find to be a sticking point is steering feedback. It is heavily dampened, no surprise of course.

I don't expect this car to be a go-kart, but I'm musing about possibly increasing steering feel, as I can't feel my way around when throwing the car hard into corners. I've been driving a car for the past five years with all steering column dampers removed and replaced with aluminum bushings for absolutely direct steering, so what I'm used to is probably a lot more than most would find acceptable.

I do have the Audi service CD but don't own a Windows machine, so haven't been able to browse the steering rack schematic. If there are simple flexible bushings in the column, I'd definitely consider having aluminum replacements fabricated. But if it's something to do with the power steering mechanism, I guess it's hopeless?

kismetcapitan
August 29th, 2011, 20:18
am I the only person to ever think of trying to "un-numb" the steering feel of this car? The steering is certainly as precise as I'll ever want it to be; I just like *feeling* the road like Braille, not just seeing the car go where I want it to. It's just more comforting?

V8weight
August 29th, 2011, 23:11
KW V3's, sway bars, forged wheels and a proper alignment....

pohsib
August 29th, 2011, 23:23
Pull the Servotronic relay? 605 I think...

MaxRS6
August 30th, 2011, 00:21
KW V3's, sway bars, forged wheels and a proper alignment....