PDA

View Full Version : Best ways to lighten the beast?

ntrcptr
August 6th, 2011, 19:46
Bottom line, its all about power-weight ratio. Shaving weight from lighter wheels and front seats should at least net 100-150 lbs. On that note, have you guys done?:vhmmm::mech:

pierson
August 6th, 2011, 20:24
front seats? i'm new at this. what seats do you get?

4everRS
August 6th, 2011, 21:19
google MTM clubsport

JSRS6
August 6th, 2011, 22:04
remove your spare tire. weighs 46 lbs.
recaro sportline seats will run you about 1600/each for the front, don't remember how much lighter they are, but they are the same style seats as what came in the euro version. and they have heating AND cooling...

JSRS6
August 6th, 2011, 22:06
oh, and lightweight wheel/tire combo and go 6 speed.

bilko1
August 6th, 2011, 22:34
remove your spare tire. weighs 46 lbs.
recaro sportline seats will run you about 1600/each for the front, don't remember how much lighter they are, but they are the same style seats as what came in the euro version. and they have heating AND cooling...

Mine are heated but not cooled (never seen cooled seats in a c5), they have electric adjustment and lumbar motors can't be much lighter than the US spec ones surely. My Avant has all the options available in the UK and weighs nearly 2000kgs. Do you guys in the US get solar sunroof and twin pane glass as an option? We don't get a spare wheel either.

JSRS6
August 6th, 2011, 22:39
I know, its an updated design. Would likely require some modifications to the harness. I almost pulled the trigger on a set right before i bought my beast.

JSRS6
August 6th, 2011, 22:45
Sorry, its the style "top line" i was thinking of

http://www.recaro-automotive.com/en/product-areas/aftermarket-seats/products/recaro-style.html#c27595

hahnmgh63
August 6th, 2011, 23:44