PDA

View Full Version : SPEC your ideal RS4!

mruser
June 8th, 2011, 11:25
As other threads have been speculating for months on what engine the car will have and if it will be a wagon only or not.. I would like to focus on other topics.

Apparently the 4.2 NA V8 will be the engine for this car. I'm no engineer hence to me is the same engine that sits in the car I drive daily! As tech-wise my RS is pretty much outdated I assume that if Audi is going to deliver a new model after 5 years with the same engine the packaging must be pretty special. So here are my expectations on what the next car should have to be as much of a game changer as the old RS4 was:

First and most important weight savings. I hope for a 100 kg saving over the previous model. Possibly not driven by extensive use of expensive carbon but rather engineered in the car.

Traction: latest gen of quattro (or even an unreleased one) supported by full torque vectoring and the possibility of having a fair degree of electronic adjustment over the distribution of torque from front to back (i guess choice of3 pre-sets via MMI would be cool).

Gearbox and transmission: if the third pedal must die then a "proper" box is required. Something that thumps like a dog leg sequential in sport mode, but is as easy going as a full auto when the kids are sleeping.

Re-using of energy: It would be nice to have the RS4 as a showcase for new hybrid related techs aimed at performance. But I feel it's too early for that...

Dumping: I guess an update to the latest standard (RS5) will be a big step from the old DRC.

Electronics: I guess an upgrade from the RNS-E to a last gen MMI is a must. however I do not know is the A6/8 related MMI can be fitted on the A4 platform.
obviously the full MMI would require the full spectrum of options that come with it like the cruise control with distance control, full led lights and so on...

What would you look for in the new RS4? And what would be feasible considering platform constrains?