PDA

View Full Version : Ohlins Stasis coilover experiences?

Caveman
March 22nd, 2011, 14:08
Newbie here so be gentle :)

Thinking about a set of these for my RS6+ but have heard that they can be noisy? Is this true? Can anyone share their experiences and provide an honest assessment of them in terms of:

- Ride quality

- Damping quality

- Noise

- Suitability of supplied spring rates (which rates do you recommend?)

I would be looking to use these in the UK for fast road use, bearing in mind that UK roads are very poorly surfaced and often bumpy and broken.

Thanks!

Mart.

Erik
March 22nd, 2011, 14:25
Öhlins are local to me. Great products, but customer service and delivery time can be so so I've heard.
They're more focused on racing products, not the private sector.

Look into what efforts are needed to service them also.

I've tried them on 911 Turbos (Rufs) and they're great. No noise and great damping and ride.
For the RS6 I don't know.

ben916
March 22nd, 2011, 16:16
I would be curious on this also, not to say I am gonna drop $4k USD on a suspension (but then again OEM DRC if you have to pay for it is in the neighborhood of $5.8k USD, IIRC).

Amulet-S6
March 22nd, 2011, 19:08
I'm a first time coilover user, so I may not be the best judge of dampening. I've had the Stasis Motorsport coil-over package on my RS6 for 3.5 years. In that time, I've had 3 struts "go out" and have to be replaced at my cost for labor and parts. (They had their own "thumping noise" issue with their first design which took over a year to resolve.) I went with the "aggressive street" set-up which has 700# springs all around. It has worked flawlessly on the track. This was prior to Audi admitting they had an issue with the DRC system. With some strongly worded letters, I got audi to reimburse me for my coilovers.

Now that I'm not tracking my RS any longer, am considering a switch to the "normal street" set-up with 600# springs to give a little more comfort to my daily drive.