PDA

View Full Version : OIL + filter change

micdee
March 22nd, 2011, 10:42
This weekend after a failed first attempt the week before I did the oil + filter change. Together with it I change the oilpan and sealing. (the sealing needed to be replaced cuz it was no longer sweating but more like dripping.

Why doing it myself??: I like to work on my car. I am no mechanic, but with the help of repair / shop manuals I used to know what, where an how to do, with all my previous cars

Oilpan change no problem
I ordered a new pan because with the first attempt I could not get the oilplug loose. (So I ordered an new one, plus plug and washer) And yes of course after a I drove the car around to warm up the oil I had one more go to loosen the plug it did. So..

Oil removal was easy but then I had to remove the oilfilter.
all the famous manual explained was that the filter was situated on the right hand side on the V8 engines.
I did have the "special tool" for the filter, but in my case I could fit the partial tool but had no other tool to fit to it so that I could get the filter loose.
So I used my old oil filter tool a leather band after some 10 mins of trying I managed to get the filter off......
But then... there was not enough space near the axle to get it out, but also not enough space to remove it straight down (the ARB was in the way)

Nothing explained in the manual, so I loosened the ARB and then had just enough space to remove the old and fit the new filter.
That was kind of a struggle to get it all done... Hopefully it might help someone else who would like to have a go ....

But I also have a question to you all who already did an oil + filter change
Is there maybe another way to get that filter out?

speedtrapped
March 22nd, 2011, 13:19
I think someone did a write up on these pages about removing the front tire to get access to oil filter. I have not done it, but I hear it is more accessiable.

JSRS6
March 22nd, 2011, 13:30