PDA

View Full Version : Noobie here... 2003 RS6 vs S6 questions...

rixpix247
March 7th, 2011, 22:43
Hi All, great forum from what I have read so far, but I am having problems finding answers to some questions. Maybe it's just operator error, but here goes. I've been drooling over the S6 for years and since the 2003 S6 Avant is finally coming into my price range, I was curious about the differences between the SR6 and S6 drive train. Also did they ever make an SR6 Avant model in the USA? Obviously the engine is different (or is it just the added twin turbo?) but what about the drive train components? Are they upgraded too? I know the disk brakes and wheels/tires are, but what about the tranny? Drive shafts? CV joints? In a nut shell, couldn't one buy an S6 and stick a supercharger/turbo kit on it and approach the SR6 performance stats then add the other goodies that the RS6 has over time when the budget allowed it? Actually brakes would be my first choice, then supercharger/turbo.
Thanks in advance!
Rick
P.S. Gotta have the sleeper S6 Avant for family purposes. Achem... ;)

TozoM8
March 8th, 2011, 00:58
The RS6 has 90 more HP, sedan only, bigger brakes, same interior, same trans, bigger (and dual clutch) torque converter.
Steveken has an S6 avant with a 6 speed manual for sale.

JSRS6
March 8th, 2011, 01:12
The RS6 has 90 more HP, sedan only, bigger brakes, same interior, same trans, bigger (and dual clutch) torque converter.
Steveken has an S6 avant with a 6 speed manual for sale.

The following modifictions were made to the rs6 transmission:

Reinforced transfer gear and transmission housings.

Increased clutch pressure.

Brake "D" reinforced(one additional coated disc).

Reinforced spur gear drive splines(modified material).