PDA

View Full Version : Precat gutting? and tuning

vw-nut
November 9th, 2010, 02:49
Due to some unfortunate T.C. issues I have pulled the motor and trans for a rebuild by tozo, happens to be done and on the way back to me now.
Im doing all maintnence and mods now obviously no time like motor being out...duh..
O2's, turbo cartridges, starter, alt, timing and water stuff, all inaccesable hoses and lines, powdercoating stuff, plugs, packs.....etc...
I cant afford down pipes now but Im an amazing faricator welder mechanic and can seriously make anything here in my shop. already have fabbed a beautiful 2.5" x piped complete exhaust cat back...

questions...
can I gut my pre cats without an aftermarket tune?
...will O2 spacers work to pull the O2 out of the flow a bit (has worked on previous cars) vw's

if gutting will work with no tune and no dreaded CEL then heck why not fab up some complete downpipes?

now the opinion part.... having just dropped over 5k in parts and rebuild alone the pockets are light, there is a fellow on here selling a ecu/tcu OCT. tuned combo for what i consider to be a reasonable price... opinions on this tune..
are there better tunes and or companies?
cost is a factor tho.. dont really want to drop 2500-3000 on tune....

thanks glenn

vw-nut
November 9th, 2010, 02:52
And yes I know this is my first post..... I lurk look and learn not post....
any help would be great this forum is hands down the best resource for our 6....

vw-nut
November 9th, 2010, 03:02
heres a link to my last build....100% start to finish by me...
http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?4734262-GTI-MK4-widebody-big-(medium)-turbo-complete-build-thread...pics-galore

and my humble little company
http://www.wheeldoctorohio.com/

just so you know im not some flaky poster talking poo...

V8weight
November 9th, 2010, 03:09