PDA

View Full Version : RS6 as a daily driver.....?

pierson
April 6th, 2010, 04:17
I'm a real estate agent in CT and need a new car (something around $25k). I've looked at everything and have come down to either a 2003 S6 Avant, S8, or RS6. I want something fun, but with room to take clients in (sorry, S4 is just too small).

I really want the RS6, but have some concerns about using it as a daily driver. How long can she last? I liked to drive my cars until well into the 200ks. I have a 95 A6 with over 250k right now.

I understand the risk involved with the transmission and the DCR, so i expect a big bill or two, but once i turn the shocks into coilovers and baby the transmission can this car really last?

Whats the least expensive way to handle the breaks? I'll be driving all day around town.

I have searched long and hard through the history and have my ideas, but was hoping to start a new thread to see if there are any other people who work and live in their RS6s out there.

ben916
April 6th, 2010, 04:57
I'm a real estate agent in CT and need a new car (something around $25k). I've looked at everything and have come down to either a 2003 S6 Avant, S8, or RS6. I want something fun, but with room to take clients in (sorry, S4 is just too small).

I really want the RS6, but have some concerns about using it as a daily driver. How long can she last? I liked to drive my cars until well into the 200ks. I have a 95 A6 with over 250k right now.

I understand the risk involved with the transmission and the DCR, so i expect a big bill or two, but once i turn the shocks into coilovers and baby the transmission can this car really last?

Whats the least expensive way to handle the breaks? I'll be driving all day around town.

I have searched long and hard through the history and have my ideas, but was hoping to start a new thread to see if there are any other people who work and live in their RS6s out there.