PDA

View Full Version : New RS6 Owner with a couple questions

demonic6
March 25th, 2010, 20:15
Hello all. Just wanted to introduce myself. I just bought a Misano Red RS6 with just under 30k miles a couple weeks ago and am loving life right now! It has the factory sound exhaust, rear side airbags, and the second owner added the RNS-E nav with bluetooth. I never had any intentions on buying an RS6, but when I saw this one in person, I had to have it. First time I bought a car on a whim. The condition of it is near flawless. I also added a Fidelity warranty for peace of mind. I have been an avid BMW driver and this is my first Audi to date and first AWD car to date.

Anyways, I installed EBC Red Stuff front brake pads the other day before the rods in the factory pads were able to eat my rotors. My question is if you are supposed to use the shims from the factory pads with the EBC's? I did not and currently have a little bit of squealing. Thoughts?

Looking forward to being a part of this forum. It seems to be surprisingly active considering how few RS6's were brought to the US.

Cheers.

MaxRS6
March 25th, 2010, 20:28
Welcome aboard the

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q240/Miltanius/CrazyTrainPoster1.jpg

Have you put a good bedding on the pads?

Dhall will be able to better answer your questions so I'll leave it to the brain..;0

V8weight
March 25th, 2010, 21:53
My question is if you are supposed to use the shims from the factory pads with the EBC's?
Cheers.
No, you don't reuse the factory shims for the Redstuff install. The squealing is normal, like Max said, they just require a good bedding in and the noise will go away.

Beastly
March 25th, 2010, 22:26
agreed with the advice above and hey..... post some pictures!

JRS-RS6
March 25th, 2010, 23:45
Run a hundred miles normal braking and than bed properly. Mine have quieted down a bit and feel great.

demonic6
March 26th, 2010, 17:52
http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u209/NineFiveAero/RS6/DSC_6361-1.jpg