PDA

View Full Version : Question about shifting

Majestic
May 28th, 2009, 09:13
This is a question for the 2003 RS6 USA version, not sure if Euro has this but if you do feel free to answer.

You know when you shift to N, R, D, there is an S at the end. Is that a sport mode?

Not sure what it does, I have shifted to it and not really sure if its doing anything.

If you know the details of this please let me know, its not a big thing but I am still learning about the car :)

Yay for :addict:

The RS6
May 28th, 2009, 09:49
In short, S won't help you accelerate faster, but as you slow down it will shift down alot much sooner so you'd have more power available at all times (due to higher revs)...

RS6-4dr911
May 28th, 2009, 10:30
Also upshifts at higher rev's, will kickdown with less travel on the gas pedal (ie. when cruising and then accelerating) and will hold the gear a little longer when cornering.

Yellow RS6
May 28th, 2009, 15:13
+1 to what's been said. You should notice it shifting at higher rpms, holding each gear longer, and you should definitely notice the downshifts, they are pretty harsh/abrupt in S mode.

Since we're talking about shifting, I have a question. Does S or manually shifting give our cars the best acceleration? (Hopefully someone that has taken theirs to the strip and has hard evidence can chime in) :)

RS6-4dr911
May 28th, 2009, 16:16
I believe a search will show the vast majority of people that have checked found S mode to be the fastest.

snoopra
May 29th, 2009, 02:57
S mode shifts at redline, also timing is advanced.

SAFE4NOW
May 29th, 2009, 03:25
I may argue that leaving it in " S " mode would give you the best accel from a stop.

Now, I am only stating this because of the 20+ runs I did this year at the Texas Mile, the top speed(s) were reached only when the car was in " S" mode.

I know this had to do with it holding each gear longer, off the line is off the line, but the longer you are engaged, the faster you accel, yes?