PDA

View Full Version : Diesel vs Hybrid

AndyBG
May 16th, 2007, 14:54
Auto Bild puts two filosofies on the line...

http://www.autobild.de/test/neuwagen/artikel.php?artikel_id=14088

Audi A6 3.0 TDI quattro , BMW 530 d and Mercedes E 320 CDI

vs

Lexus GS 450h

Very interesting, Auto Bild concludes that hibryd don't have a chance against modern diesels.

It would be nice for some german speaking member to give some more info about article...

Leadfoot
May 16th, 2007, 15:13
AUTOCAR also run a similar test and got the same result.

Eckoman
May 16th, 2007, 15:13
Very interesting, Auto Bild concludes that hibryd don't have a chance against modern diesels.

It would be nice for some german speaking member to give some more info about article...

And a japanese auto magazine would most probably conclude that the hybrid is superior ;)

Benman
May 16th, 2007, 15:21
Amen! This is what I've been preaching on here for the last two years! Diesel baby! But right now, how many diesels are sold in California?

0!!!

Yes, 0

Next year will be different (so we're told...).

What I'd really like to see would be a bio diesel hybrid! Man, that thing would be a torque fest!:bow:

Ben:addict:

Leadfoot
May 16th, 2007, 15:27
But Ben you have to remember that Diesel motors product worse gases than a Hybrid and quite possibly a standard petrol motor as well. California have a lot of problems and I don't think diesel is the answer that Hybrids are.

Benman
May 16th, 2007, 15:41
But Ben you have to remember that Diesel motors product worse gases than a Hybrid and quite possibly a standard petrol motor as well.

Yes, but considering they (diesels) use less gas per mileage than petrols, they can afford to "pollute" more per gallon than petrol and still be as "clean" since they pollute no more per mile. That is the key the dang tree huggers miss.