PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here - Question regarding RS6 purchase - Need Help!!

aliusa
March 21st, 2007, 04:50
Hi guys,
This is my first post on here. I recently sold my '04 M3 since it was getting little unpractical with a new baby and it was a pain to take the child seat in and out in a coupe. Anyhow, I am looking to get a 4 door car now. I test drove an '05 S4 few days ago and immediately fell in love with it. It definitely feels a lot heavier than the M3 but I loved the handling, the quality, etc. I am also working with a dealer who can take me to an auction and I can buy any car I want and he will charge me a flat rate of $500 as his comission.

There is a local car auction (pretty big one) happening here (in Northern Virginia, U.S) tomorrow where BMW Financials, Mercedes Credit, Audi Financials, and VW Credit are there. So I was at the auction site today (pre-auction inspection day) where you can check out the cars and start the engine etc.

I never really paid attention to a 2003 RS6 until today (Don't get to see them much on the road) and did some research on specs etc. and pretty impressed by it. One thing I am not too happy about is the claimed 0-60mph on this car (read it's 4.7secs 0 - 60mph). With all the HP and torque it has, I would expect this car to reach 60mph in 4.5 seconds or less.

Anyhow, I am not posting here to bash on RS6. I think it's a great car. My question to you guys is - how's the reliability and maintenance on this vehicle. The car they have at the auction is in light silver / blueish color with light cream interior and the previous owner didn't really clean the leather. The exterior is spotless. The car has Navi, BOSE, rear shades, rear heated seats, front heated seats, PDC. The mileage is 53,000. I checked the CARFAX and it's a one owner car. My dealer told me that RS6 with 50K miles or so are going for about $38K at the auction.