PDA

View Full Version : Thank you Abt!!

Dave
April 29th, 2003, 19:12
Well, a few days have now passed since I took delivery of my new & improved RS6. My local dealer had had the car over the easter period in which time they sent the ECU back to Abt in Germany for the ECU to be reprogrammed to give my car 505bhp and 630Nm torque.

I was a little apprehensive on picking up the car.. how much difference will 60bhp be? and what will all the torque do to the gearbox?

On starting up the car the first thing I noticed was a smoother idle. Still had the georgeous note that you get accustomed too . Time to set off... let the oil warm up a bit, but the difference between standard and chipped is amazing.. the throttle responce is immediate and the power amazing...

I'm not very good at explaining these things.. it's always easier just to drive [and laugh ], but the power delivery is much more linear and the car pulls really hard from 1500 revs right round to the 7000rpm red line. The gear changes are now very quick (and I would even say to you manual lovers that you would be hard pushed to dip the clutch, select a new ratio and lift the clutch as quick as this can, esp between first and second). The accleration is superb.. really head back against the head rest type of stuff... and the mid-range stuff is just awesome.. I really cannot think of anything (except maybe a bike) that will out gun this. [ok, on a track it might be different, but on the highway it's amazing].

I find myself driving along saying 505bhp to myself.. flex the right calf muscle and it's 120mph in the blink of an eye . I'll tell you what.. the old brakes are going to get a lot more use

Overall, I am very very pleased. I would like to thank James at Abt for all his help and and advice and also to the team at Abt for a superb job.

Well done guys
Dave
:D

Benman
April 29th, 2003, 19:35
man, we really have to get this chip over here stateside:D

glad your having MAD fun Dave:cheers:

ben:addict:

iconcls