PDA

View Full Version : The RS4 is Pretty Good Value (IMO)

sarends
November 15th, 2006, 14:29
There has been some discussion on whether the RS4 is overpriced. Here is how I see it:

A BMW 335I (well loaded) is about $48k (which is more than the E46 top of the line coupes were). The E92 M3 (IMO) will be about $65k (comparably loaded to the RS4) - it will be the most expensive M3 ever (short of the unavailable CSL). The RS4 is about $72k (well loaded). However, with the RS4 you also get quattro. So how much should we fairly add for the quattro? A BMW XI is about $2k more than a 2 wheel drive. Is the quattro system in the RS4 a better (more valuable) system than what is in BMW's XI systems? I am not an expert here, but my hunch is that it is. So, even if you just add $2k - $4k to the new M3's $65k we are now at $67k - $69k compared to the RS4's $72k. So if you want to argue that the RS4 is (maybe) $3k to $5k too high, I guess you could.

Another way to look at it - what else offers similar all around looks, quality, convenience and (6 speed) performance today? What car is this? I can't think of anything. The closest car in my mind is my current E39 M5, which really isn't the same car, but I absolutely love my M5 (for many many reasons) and the only car I can see moving into right now from the M5 is the RS4, and I have given it allot of thought!

I have driven the B7 S4 and I am very sorry guys, the handling is simply not there compared to an E46 M3 or particularly compared to an RS4. I even prefer the handling of the BMW 335I to the S7 S4 (sorry). Now the RS4, that is a COMPLETELY different story. ANd that my friends is why you are seeing BMW guys (M3 and M5) begin to move to the very excellent (all around) RS4, it is just that good. You see, the RS4 is kinda like an "M". BMW Ms just seem to have that magic synergy of parts that all come together that make you enjoy the car in a million ways - same with the RS4. :D

Speedou
November 15th, 2006, 15:09