Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Maybe I should start by introducing myself/my car

Maybe I should start by introducing myself/my car

I bought the RS6 as a bang for the buck mid-life crisis hot rod just over a year ago. I paid $14,300 shipped with a 3 month warranty as a dealer auction flip with 85k miles. The extra bonus here is, when you pay taxes, you’re charged at the actual purchase price when purchased from a dealer (not fair market). At that price, I was willing to gamble on a decent drive train; and I won. The car has been wrecked/dinged/repaired, but still looks good at 20 feet. So, for those of you with garage jewelry, close your eyesJ I’m about function, and simply not getting pulled over. (My last Jeep had 2 salvage titles before I began molesting her…) Then, my buddies talked me into getting out to the track… A few track days and autocrosses, and here we are.>>
    I’m actually an engineer with odd hobbies. I do all the work myself. All standard maintenance items were budgeted for and needed on this car:>>
    Control arms, axel shafts, tranny service, engine oil, dif fluid (in all 3), timing belt, $1000 brake job, fixed and replaced misc. interior pieces, a couple body touchups here and there.>>
    Then, of course, for fun:>>
    PSS9s, Hotchkis sways, lithium battery, wheels/tires, Sparco seats, no rear seat, no rear side air bags, carpeted panel in place of rear seat, no rear door panels (replaced with thin layer of fiberglass/ the dog can’t use the switches anyway), sun roof delete (first carbon project), side radiator delete, 5mph bumpers/gone, rear sun shade removed, mufflers replaced with generic resonators, cowl intake, and whatever else I forgot. >>
    The truck scales say 3830 pounds on 1/3 tank for around a 450 (or so) pound loss. Anyone that’s tracked one of these will soon figure out trimming pounds to manage heat in the tires and brakes becomes a huge priority. Then, you just might get carried awayJ>>