PDA

View Full Version : What kind of winter tires will fit the new B6 S4?

CoOlSlY
July 5th, 2003, 15:08
I would like to order winter tires right now from tireracks.com since the exchange rate from CAN$->US$ is good. I will also order some rims to fit those tires. What will be the recommended tires size for the B6 S4? If possible, I will go on 17" instead of 18", is it a good idea? I don't think 16" would fit because of the brake size.

Thnx,

Sylvain

Erik
July 5th, 2003, 17:13
I use 17" Pirelli studded tires and I'm happy with those.

I heard that Nokian is releasing 18" with studs. :bigeyes:

But ordinary unstudded would be nice as well depending on the weather you get.

Klint
July 5th, 2003, 20:14
Yup, You got the right idea to go for the 17" wheels.

I'm no expert in this area but I know as a fact that most people who have their summer wheels as 18", knock it down an inch for the winter. It also saves some money too.

You could also use those 17" rims for the track if you ever decide to go on a track day, this also saves a little money over the standard 18" rims. Simple as going to your local tyre shop and get new sticky rubber on and get the winter spec rubber off. So it might be worth going for some ultra light BBS's or a set of OZ racing rims to go with the tyres.

:cheers:

McBurn4ever
July 5th, 2003, 21:12
The recommended size is 225/45/17"

:s4addict:

CoOlSlY
July 6th, 2003, 15:07
McBurn4ever: It's the recommended size (225/45/17) for the B6 S4 ??? Some were saying that 17" may not fit properly because of the brake size? If you're sure, I'll be buying them right away since the exchange right is good out here.

Sylvain

McBurn4ever
July 6th, 2003, 20:55
Yes, I'm sure...and if I don't remeber totaly wrong the recommended rims to
use with the tires should have size 17"x7".

Saw a .pdf-document over all..and I mean all..standard and extra equpment...
.for the US-spec S4b6. I think it was somewhere over @ audiworld.com